Post Reply 
New Yahoo mail interaface
Dec. 01, 2007, 07:24 PM
Post: #1
New Yahoo mail interaface
Has anybody written a filter for, or have any advice, on how to bypass the new Yahoo mail interface?
I have Proxo with the latest Sidki config (09-09 2007) and while I was at first still able to logon to Yahoo as long as they allowed me to use the Classic interface, this has now stopped completely. As of last week all I get are error messages.
Thanks
Quote this message in a reply
Dec. 04, 2007, 05:51 AM
Post: #2
RE: New Yahoo mail interaface
Guest,

Hmmm, I just used that same Yahoo web-based mail interface, and noticed no differences....... (9:20pm [PST], Monday 12/03/07)

I do note, however, that on occasion Yahoo will, in it's infinite wisdom, decide that you want to try the so-called beta product, what I think is yet another version of the samo-samo web-based mail interface. I can't speak as to what that entails, I merely turn it off whenever that happens, and I'm right back where I wanna be, using what you correctly term the classical interface.

Options open to you:
A) Swallow your ire, and disable Proxo for the moment;
B) Use a friend's computer; or
C) Go to the library and use a public machine.....

Log into Yahoo (if the library will let you!), then change your Preferences back from beta to standard. That should cure your ills.

Also, note that for some strange reason, the same thing does not happen at the same time to all Yahoo users. The rollout is gradual, and what you're seeing now, that may happen to me tomorrow, or next week, or...... Sad Like I said, they do this as "job justification", and nothing else. If Yahoo really had a clue about what the user wants (and it sure ain't that so-called "enhanced user experience"!!!), they'd fire every programmer they've got, and keep the money. In about a month, they'd be so rich they could afford to cut all fees in half. Whistling

HTH



Oddysey

I'm no longer in the rat race - the rats won't have me!
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Dec. 04, 2007, 04:59 PM
Post: #3
RE: New Yahoo mail interaface
yahoo has been a *MAJOR* pain in the whazinski for the last two-and-a-half MONTHS...

after two weeks or so of me clicking the "cancel" button to NOT switch my homepage to their new "beta" POS, i reiterate *POS*, after several times of SWITCHING, then switching BACK to the "classic" (thinking that will FINALLY convince the [email protected]@rds that i am NOT interested in their "new" beta POS)... crapola, where was i? my ears are red now - may a thousand fleas infest the armpits of each and every yahoo employee that feels the incessant need to "insist" upon RAM-RODDING their new POS "beta" homepage down, wait, make that UP my, well, you know, kids may be present, so i shall bite my tongue on this end while yahoo keeps messing with the other end...


where was i?

oh, i've had to start using the below to "automate" the process of AVOIDING the "beta" POS homepage...

Code:
Name = "AutoClick Sign In"
Active = TRUE
URL = "$TYPE(htm)e.my.yahoo.com"
Limit = 32766
Match = "??+"
Replace = "<html>\r\n"
          "<head><title>Yahoo Sign In</title>\r\n"
          "<meta http-equiv="refresh" content="0;url=http://login.yahoo.com/config/login?.src=my&.done=http://cm.my.yahoo.com&.intl=us">\r\n"
          "</head>\r\n"
          "<body>\r\n"
          "</body>\r\n"
          "</html>\r\n"

Name = "AutoClick Sign In - Beta"
Active = TRUE
URL = "$TYPE(htm)cm.my.yahoo.com/?rd=nux"
Limit = 32766
Match = "??+"
Replace = "<html>\r\n"
          "<head><title>Yahoo Sign In</title>\r\n"
          "<meta http-equiv="refresh" content="0;url=http://https-px-.login.yahoo.com/config/login?.src=my&.done=http://cm.my.yahoo.com&.intl=us">\r\n"
          "</head>\r\n"
          "<body>\r\n"
          "</body>\r\n"
          "</html>\r\n"

Name = "AutoClick Cancel - Beta"
Active = TRUE
URL = "$TYPE(htm)cm.my.yahoo.com/(^[?rd=nux])"
Limit = 32766
Match = "??+"
Replace = "<html>\r\n"
          "<head><title>Yahoo Sign In</title>\r\n"
          "<meta http-equiv="refresh" content="0;url=http://my.yahoo.com/">\r\n"
          "</head>\r\n"
          "<body>\r\n"
          "</body>\r\n"
          "</html>\r\n"


in closing, F-U yahoo and your POS "beta" homepage!!!
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Dec. 04, 2007, 05:25 PM
Post: #4
RE: New Yahoo mail interaface
looks like the sign-in to beta, switch back to original "sticks" so long as cookies are never cleared from the cache (but who doesn't clear cookies after each and every browsing session?)...

at any rate, now that this headache is back on the front burner, gonna see what i can do to FAKE the yahoo cookie so that the POS "beta" homepage is no longer RAM-RODDED by "the powers that be"...
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Dec. 04, 2007, 06:12 PM
Post: #5
RE: New Yahoo mail interaface
scratch that...
i'll stick with my "autoclick" method to avoid the "beta" POS homepage...
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Dec. 04, 2007, 09:25 PM
Post: #6
RE: New Yahoo mail interaface
PR,

Come to think of it, I do keep the Yahoo cookie, along with two or three others, like the one for this very forum. ;-)

I simply sign in to Yahoo with Proxo disabled, change to classic view, sign out, and close the browser session. I then re-enable Proxo, and lo and behold, the cookie works. Of course, the cookie can't be overwritten, at least one of my filters disallows that kind of thing. <hehehe>

But I'd be tickled pink if you were to come up with, and publish, a method for generating a fake cookie that works as well, or even better. Whistling

HTH



Oddysey

I'm no longer in the rat race - the rats won't have me!
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Dec. 04, 2007, 10:33 PM
Post: #7
RE: New Yahoo mail interaface
lol... okay, i'll take another stab at 'er...
(pro'ly won't be 'til o'er the wknd tho'...)
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Dec. 08, 2007, 07:59 PM
Post: #8
RE: New Yahoo mail interaface
Thanks, guys for this wealth of info. However it seems that my logon problems were only transition pains as I've suddenly(as of two days ago) been accepted back into the Yahoo fold with all rights and privileges thereunto. But I'll be following the rest of this thread with interest.
And yes, the new beta POS does suck.

Sorry about the "Guest". I was just too lazy to logon the first time.
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Dec. 09, 2007, 09:04 AM
Post: #9
RE: New Yahoo mail interaface
liquidslam,
Quote:Scratch the first three. There was a glitch in my browser.
I returned them to the bit bucket for you. Whistling

Browsers sometimes do funny things, don't they? Sad



Oddysey

I'm no longer in the rat race - the rats won't have me!
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Dec. 10, 2007, 02:03 PM
Post: #10
RE: New Yahoo mail interaface
i've been unable to "fake cookie" a way around the beta POS...

in that i refuse to keep ANY cookies in the cache after the browser is closed, looks like i'll have to stick with the filters that "auto-submit" and "auto-cancel" - until the yahoo [email protected]@rds stop their insane "ram-rodding" of the POS...
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Dec. 10, 2007, 02:12 PM
Post: #11
RE: New Yahoo mail interaface
if yahoo was "smart", they'd see that all the .js BS that their new POS homepage employs is *NOT* "wanted" by 'we the people', else ask.com (another POS over-the-top .js BS) would be stealing market-share from google (which they did, *short-term* after the .js BS first came out, but that has "dwindled" once the "novelty" wore off)...

to yahoo - stop the insanity, "we" do *NOT* want all that .js BS, mouse-overs, et cetera... if the day arises where you "force" ALL of us (which your ram-rodding approach leads us to suspect) to use the POS, rest assured, we Proxo users will be "cleaning up" all of that .js BS...
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Dec. 11, 2007, 09:16 PM
Post: #12
RE: New Yahoo mail interaface
Gang;

In blasting out yet another intrusion from Big Brother, aka Yahoo!, I found that I've been using the following filter for some time. Can't tell you when I installed it, but I can say, it's been working for probably better than a year now - I just don't remember having to go in and manually tell Yahoo to return me to non-Beta status. Smile! Here ya go:

Code:
Name = "put yahoo mail back like it should be"
Active = TRUE
Limit = 56
Match = "[0-9]\1beta=yes"
Replace = "\1beta=no"

Should be self-explanatory, but if not, you know the drill. Pray

HTH


Oddysey

I'm no longer in the rat race - the rats won't have me!
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump: