Post Reply 
Video problems with BBC websites again
Oct. 03, 2009, 02:58 PM (This post was last modified: Oct. 04, 2009 12:59 PM by scoop.)
Post: #1
Video problems with BBC websites again
Using latest alpha filters and having problems with BBC website videos.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/weather/

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/entertainment/8285835.stm

No flash videos being played.

Help

Kind Regards

Scoop
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Oct. 03, 2009, 05:44 PM
Post: #2
RE: Video problems with BBC websites again
I don't use the alpha config. A question: Do the videos work with the 02-13-09 config?
If not, maybe you are using a hosts file? In that case, you may need to unblock:
ad.uk.doubleclick.net

I'm sure others will offer more suggestions.

soccerfan
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Oct. 03, 2009, 06:52 PM (This post was last modified: Oct. 04, 2009 12:59 PM by scoop.)
Post: #3
RE: Video problems with BBC websites again
Yes it worked with 2.13.09 config but also worked with the Alpha config untill the other day. Im not using a host file. So im presuming BBC have changed something. Hopefully Sidki can help me once again with this issue.

Kind Regards

Scoop
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Oct. 03, 2009, 09:56 PM
Post: #4
RE: Video problems with BBC websites again
In Exceptions.ptxt there is an entry...
Code:
newsimg.bbc.co.uk/js/app/weather/    $SET(0=a_adfn2.)

Try changing it to...
Code:
newsimg.bbc.co.uk/js/app/        $SET(0=a_adfn2.)

Then clear your browser cache (and restart the browser if Opera/Chrome).
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Oct. 04, 2009, 12:59 PM (This post was last modified: Oct. 04, 2009 12:59 PM by scoop.)
Post: #5
RE: Video problems with BBC websites again
Many thanks again Sidki. It works a treat, great stuff.




(Oct. 03, 2009 09:56 PM)sidki3003 Wrote:  In Exceptions.ptxt there is an entry...
Code:
newsimg.bbc.co.uk/js/app/weather/    $SET(0=a_adfn2.)

Try changing it to...
Code:
newsimg.bbc.co.uk/js/app/        $SET(0=a_adfn2.)

Then clear your browser cache (and restart the browser if Opera/Chrome).

Kind Regards

Scoop
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Oct. 05, 2009, 01:10 PM
Post: #6
RE: Video problems with BBC websites again
Oh spoke to soon. Its doing it again now!

Kind Regards

Scoop
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Oct. 05, 2009, 04:07 PM
Post: #7
RE: Video problems with BBC websites again
With posted fix applied to the otherwise unaltered alpha 4, i cannot reproduce the problem anymore.
At the two above linked pages.
With Firefox 3.53.
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Oct. 05, 2009, 05:13 PM
Post: #8
RE: Video problems with BBC websites again
Quote:Many thanks again Sidki. It works a treat, great stuff.

Quote:Oh spoke to soon. Its doing it again now!

Curious

What happens if you add

Code:
news.bbc.co.uk/weather/forecast/10210/MapPresenter.json $SET(0=a_cont_typ.)
newsimg.bbc.co.uk/js/app/av/emp/emp.js $SET(0=a_js.)

to $LST(Exceptions-U) ?

And do you see those addresses in http://local.ptron/.pinfo/urls/ ?
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Oct. 05, 2009, 06:10 PM (This post was last modified: Oct. 05, 2009 06:38 PM by ProxoDent.)
Post: #9
RE: Video problems with BBC websites again
It's working here for me afte making Sidki's recommended change using the latest alpha config as well as the previous config.

-- Re: http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/entertainment/8285835.stm

Prior to the mod, the entire area to be filled with the video screen was blank; after the mod, the 'flash toggle' (assuming you have that filter applied) appears. Clicking on the 'flash toggle' allows the video to load and play normally.

Note: I also have a large HOSTS file running sometimes, and with that enabled and after applying Sidki's fix, the video would try to load but would hang on a 'doubleclick' URL. Disabling the HOSTS file allows Sidki's fix to work properly.

-- Re: http://news.bbc.co.uk/weather/

I never had any issues with this link, even without Sidki's fix.

I've been following this thread since posted, and I applied Sidki's fix shortly after it was posted. I have not noticed any changes in functionality since.

What I'm curious about is what exactly gets changed in the web page code that allows the fix to work. I did some diffs on befores-and-afters of various source code (debug source code, etc.) and other documents ('show scripts' page, for example), and maybe I was sloppy in my testing, but I can't narrow down differences that would fix the problem. Are the changes made in the linked javascript pages? Somewhere else more obscure?

Bottom line: where does one look to see what changes were effected by modifying the exceptions, as posted by Sidki, that allow the page to work after the fix is applied.

Thanks.
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Oct. 05, 2009, 06:43 PM (This post was last modified: Oct. 05, 2009 06:57 PM by sidki3003.)
Post: #10
RE: Video problems with BBC websites again
What follows below is a description of JS troubleshooting for tricky cases. These are rare, usually problems can be tracked down *much* quicker (e.g. by looking at the JS console).

After making sure that the problematic code isn't in the main page (by selecting "All Javascript" and "All Ads" from the Prox menu) i collect the external JS links, e.g. via "Show 38 Scripts" in the Prox menu (i use a custom Firefox extension for JS troubleshooting, though).

Result:
http://news.bbc.co.uk/js/app/bbccom/bbccom.js?v=1.8.7
http://news.bbc.co.uk/js/app/bbccom/vs.js
http://news.bbc.co.uk/js/newsi/latest/newsi.js?9

http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/js/app/av/emp/compatibility.js
http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/js/app/av/emp/c...ertainment
http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/js/app/av/emp/emp.js
http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/js/app/blq/blq_core.js
http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/js/app/bookmark/bookmark.js
http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/js/app/linktrac...nktrack.js
http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/js/app/radio/ao...oplayer.js
http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/js/app/rss/getrss.js
http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/js/app/shared/c..._common.js
http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/js/app/shared/c..._config.js
http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/js/app/shared/v2_6/bbc_fmtj.js
http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/js/app/site_wid...e_alert.js
http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/js/app/ticker/v1_2_0/ticker.js
http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/js/app/tools/hi...nd_show.js
http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/nol/shared/js/csf_2.js
http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/nol/shared/js/nol4.js?v4
http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/nol/ukfs_news/js/av.js?v2

http://node1.bbcimg.co.uk/glow/gloader.0.1.2.js
http://node1.bbcimg.co.uk/glow/glow/1.6.1/core/core.js
http://node1.bbcimg.co.uk/glow/glow/map.js

Then i add below entries _temporarily_ to the general bypass list - one after the other:
news.bbc.co.uk/
newsimg.bbc.co.uk/
node1.bbcimg.co.uk/

Result: The second entry fixes the problem (for me anyway).

Then i add all entries of the second block (newsimg.bbc.co.uk/js/app/... , i.e. w/o the "http://") to the bypass list, but out-comment the first half. Testing again, out-commenting again, narrowing it down to:
http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/js/app/av/emp/emp.js

Result: Critical code is:
Code:
<Match: Remove: Ad Functions II - Code     09.06.01 [jd sd] (d.3 l.3) >
function(){var p;if(!this.fmtjConfig.mediaKind){p="video"}else{p=this.fmtjConfig.mediaKind}var t=k.noFlashTemplate[p];var q=this.fmtjConfig.noFlashMessage;var o=a.lang.interpolate(t,q);this.setMessage(o);var u=this.fmtjConfig.ads.companionId;var s=this.fmtjConfig.ads.companion.suppress===true?true:false;if(c()&&!s){if(!u){var r=this.fmtjConfig.ads.companion.idPrefix+this.domId;this.set("companionId",r);var n=a.dom.create(a.lang.interpolate(this.fmtjConfig.ads.companion.template,{id:r}));n.insertAfter(a.dom.get("#"+this.domId))}}e.call(l,arguments);if(c()){if(!this.isEmbedded()){a.dom.get("#"+u).destroy()}}
</Match>
function(){ return String(); /* PROX: Ad Function II Blocked - (AdKey.2 ads.companionId) */ [...] }

Then i check if the match is the result of a buggy filter.
Result: Nope.

Finally i add/modify an Exceptions list entry, in this case "newsimg.bbc.co.uk/js/app/".
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Oct. 05, 2009, 08:33 PM
Post: #11
RE: Video problems with BBC websites again
(Oct. 05, 2009 06:43 PM)sidki3003 Wrote:  What follows below is a description of JS troubleshooting for tricky cases.

<snip>

... (i use a custom Firefox extension for JS troubleshooting, though).

<snip>

Then i add below entries _temporarily_ to the general bypass list - one after the other:
news.bbc.co.uk/
newsimg.bbc.co.uk/
node1.bbcimg.co.uk/

Result: The second entry fixes the problem (for me anyway).

I get down to there pretty easily in testing issues, but I generally use the Firefox extension, NoScript, to quickly identify domains / paths that are breaking the page when they are blocked.

(Oct. 05, 2009 06:43 PM)sidki3003 Wrote:  Then i add all entries of the second block (newsimg.bbc.co.uk/js/app/... , i.e. w/o the "http://") to the bypass list, but out-comment the first half. Testing again, out-commenting again, narrowing it down to:
http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/js/app/av/emp/emp.js

I get this part as well. Trial and error at its best.

(Oct. 05, 2009 06:43 PM)sidki3003 Wrote:  Result: Critical code is:
Code:
<Match: Remove: Ad Functions II - Code     09.06.01 [jd sd] (d.3 l.3) >
function(){var p;if(!this.fmtjConfig.mediaKind){p="video"}else{p=this.fmtjConfig.mediaKind}var t=k.noFlashTemplate[p];var q=this.fmtjConfig.noFlashMessage;var o=a.lang.interpolate(t,q);this.setMessage(o);var u=this.fmtjConfig.ads.companionId;var s=this.fmtjConfig.ads.companion.suppress===true?true:false;if(c()&&!s){if(!u){var r=this.fmtjConfig.ads.companion.idPrefix+this.domId;this.set("companionId",r);var n=a.dom.create(a.lang.interpolate(this.fmtjConfig.ads.companion.template,{id:r}));n.insertAfter(a.dom.get("#"+this.domId))}}e.call(l,arguments);if(c()){if(!this.isEmbedded()){a.dom.get("#"+u).destroy()}}
</Match>
function(){ return String(); /* PROX: Ad Function II Blocked - (AdKey.2 ads.companionId) */ [...] }

But my inability to find this 'match' is where I'm losing it. How and where is this match generated? I don't see it anywhere, including the 'debugged' page.

Sorry for being so thick-headed.

Thank you for taking valuable time to explain your methods. I really appreciate it.
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Oct. 05, 2009, 09:12 PM (This post was last modified: Oct. 05, 2009 09:13 PM by JJoe.)
Post: #12
RE: Video problems with BBC websites again
(Oct. 05, 2009 08:33 PM)ProxoDent Wrote:  
(Oct. 05, 2009 06:43 PM)sidki3003 Wrote:  Result: Critical code is:
Code:
<Match: Remove: Ad Functions II - Code     09.06.01 [jd sd] (d.3 l.3) >
function(){var p;if(!this.fmtjConfig.mediaKind){p="video"}else{p=this.fmtjConfig.mediaKind}var t=k.noFlashTemplate[p];var q=this.fmtjConfig.noFlashMessage;var o=a.lang.interpolate(t,q);this.setMessage(o);var u=this.fmtjConfig.ads.companionId;var s=this.fmtjConfig.ads.companion.suppress===true?true:false;if(c()&&!s){if(!u){var r=this.fmtjConfig.ads.companion.idPrefix+this.domId;this.set("companionId",r);var n=a.dom.create(a.lang.interpolate(this.fmtjConfig.ads.companion.template,{id:r}));n.insertAfter(a.dom.get("#"+this.domId))}}e.call(l,arguments);if(c()){if(!this.isEmbedded()){a.dom.get("#"+u).destroy()}}
</Match>
function(){ return String(); /* PROX: Ad Function II Blocked - (AdKey.2 ads.companionId) */ [...] }

But my inability to find this 'match' is where I'm losing it. How and where is this match generated? I don't see it anywhere, including the 'debugged' page.

Comment out the new or revert to the old list entries.
Clear the browser's cache, right click on the Log window, select "HTML Debug info", and load
http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/js/app/av/emp/emp.js


Attached File(s)
.gif  Example.gif (Size: 28.41 KB / Downloads: 633)
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Oct. 05, 2009, 09:25 PM
Post: #13
RE: Video problems with BBC websites again
(Oct. 05, 2009 09:12 PM)JJoe Wrote:  Comment out the new or revert to the old list entries.
Clear the browser's cache, right click on the Log window, select "HTML Debug info", and load
http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/js/app/av/emp/emp.js

Whew. Thank you so much.

I did run the javascript itself to see what that might produce, but I didn't take the step of watching the logger's debug mode. Knew it was there, but have rarely used it. It will get used more often now.

Thanks again.
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Oct. 05, 2009, 09:51 PM (This post was last modified: Oct. 05, 2009 09:55 PM by JJoe.)
Post: #14
RE: Video problems with BBC websites again
(Oct. 05, 2009 09:25 PM)ProxoDent Wrote:  Whew. Thank you so much.

Depending on your settings and needs you may be able to use "dbug..".

http://www.proxomitron.info/45/help/URL%20Commands.html
and for sidki's sets ?prx-command=dbug.. like
http://www.google.com/?prx-command=dbug..

You may not have to clear the browser's cache but you do have to force a new download of the file.

Have fun
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Oct. 05, 2009, 10:11 PM
Post: #15
RE: Video problems with BBC websites again
(Oct. 05, 2009 09:51 PM)JJoe Wrote:  Depending on your settings and needs you may be able to use "dbug..".

http://www.proxomitron.info/45/help/URL%20Commands.html
and for sidki's sets ?prx-command=dbug.. like
http://www.google.com/?prx-command=dbug..

You may not have to clear the browser's cache but you do have to force a new download of the file.

Have fun

Those all should be helpful.

The only 'debug' I was using was the option in the Sidki / Proxomitron menu that pops up on the [main] page itself. That's why I was not able to find the 'match' that Sidki was showing.

Thank you.
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump: