Proxomitron transparent proxy server
Oct. 10, 2009, 02:40 PM (This post was last modified: Oct. 10, 2009 02:44 PM by wolfgang.)
Proxomitron transparent proxy server
Hi,

I am new to Proxomitron and look for a solution to implement the Proxomitron proxy on a standalone server , but now the but, I would need the Proxomitron to act as a transparent proxy. I want to use a webserver test software via the Proxomitron proxy that proxomitron would add a authentication header to each request of the test software. As the test software does not have the option to configure a proxy server, I would configure the gateway address of the test-server to the IP address of the Proxomitron server.....but that this would work, the Proxomitron would need to act as a transparent proxy. Any idea if this can be somehow configured, or if we could add some other SW to achieve this? A portforwarder is not good enough, because the transparent mode would still need to be configured in Proxomitron. One more thing, my test-server is a Linux virtual machine, so I can not use a proxifier to do the job.

Any help appreciated, Wolfgang
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Oct. 10, 2009, 10:07 PM
RE: Proxomitron transparent proxy server
If you are meaning 'transparent' in the sense that the requesting software isn't aware of the proxy (may not be correct useage of the term), iptables might work for you since you are using Linux. Iptables can redirect the requests. Something like this:

Code:
iptables -t nat -A PREROUTING -i eth0 -p tcp --dport 80 -j REDIRECT --to-port 8080

See the iptables man pages:

Quote:REDIRECT

This target is only valid in the nat table, in the PREROUTING and OUTPUT chains, and user-defined chains which are only called from those chains. It redirects the packet to the machine itself by changing the destination IP to the primary address of the incoming interface (locally-generated packets are mapped to the 127.0.0.1 address). It takes one option:
--to-ports port[-port]