Post Reply 
IE8: Correct User Agent on Google sites
May. 18, 2010, 10:18 PM
Post: #1
IE8: Correct User Agent on Google sites
Hello,
Just a minor annoyance here browsing with IE8 on any Google site. Under "PROX: Header Top Insertion Begins" my user agent appears thusly:
Code:
ncWith: "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 7.0; Windows NT 5.1)"

Other sites correctly show IE8 as my browser:
Code:
ncWith: "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 5.1)"

How can I get IE8 to appear on Google sites as well without breaking any other filters?

TIA,
DarthTrader
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
May. 19, 2010, 03:42 AM
Post: #2
RE: IE8: Correct User Agent on Google sites
I see

Code:
ncWith: "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 5.1)"

with SIDKI 2009-05-24 ALPHA 4.

Have you added to the lists?
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
May. 19, 2010, 12:54 PM
Post: #3
RE: IE8: Correct User Agent on Google sites
Hi JJoe,

I just loaded sidki_2009-05-24.ptron dated 7/18/2009 and I still get MSIE 7. Yes, I have added things to various lists. Which lists did you have in mind?

DarthTrader
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
May. 19, 2010, 04:03 PM (This post was last modified: May. 19, 2010 04:05 PM by JJoe.)
Post: #4
RE: IE8: Correct User Agent on Google sites
What is your IE8 actually sending?

Probably User-Agents.ptxt, Exceptions.ptxt, or Exceptions-U.ptxt.
Something that fakes the User-Agent.

User-Agents.ptxt has,

Code:
Mozilla/4.0(^$TST(keyword=*.f_ua_(^[a-z]++ie)*)) \(compatible; MSIE(^ 5.01)\2;
  $SET(1=Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE\2; Windows NT 5.1))

So IE8's User-Agent should be (I think) 'corrected' to,

Code:
Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 5.1)

My IE8 sends

Code:
User-Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; Trident/4.0; SLCC2; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; .NET CLR 3.5.30729; .NET CLR 3.0.30729; Media Center PC 6.0)

In Exceptions.ptxt

Code:
# Google Search
www.google.(*/)+{1}(intl/(*/)+{1}(^?)|search\?|webhp|(^?))
  $SET(0=a_ads.a_rdlink.a_target.i_popup_b:0.i_timer:2.i_noscr:3.f_cookie.f_ua_opie.)
  $SET(sCookieP=0)$SET(sCookieF=PREF=ID=3003added0032123:FF=4:NR=100:CR=2:SG=0)

f_ua_opie -> fake Opera, if not IE or Opera

Since I don't have any other User-Agent related entries (I think),
the Proxomitron changes the User-Agent to

Code:
Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 5.1)

Exceptions-U.ptxt provides
## don't fake browser info (headers & JS) $SET(0=i_ua:0.)
and
## fake user-agent: "Anything" $SET(0=f_ua_§Anything.)
but I think it would be best to discover what is up.

HTH
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
May. 19, 2010, 09:39 PM
Post: #5
RE: IE8: Correct User Agent on Google sites
(May. 19, 2010 04:03 PM)JJoe Wrote:  What is your IE8 actually sending?
My IE8 is sending this:
Code:
Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 5.1; Trident/4.0; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; .NET CLR 3.0.04506.648; .NET CLR 3.5.21022; .NET CLR 3.0.4506.2152; .NET CLR 3.5.30729; .NET4.0C; .NET4.0E)

Quote:Probably User-Agents.ptxt, Exceptions.ptxt, or Exceptions-U.ptxt.
Something that fakes the User-Agent.

User-Agents.ptxt has,

Code:
Mozilla/4.0(^$TST(keyword=*.f_ua_(^[a-z]++ie)*)) \(compatible; MSIE(^ 5.01)\2;
  $SET(1=Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE\2; Windows NT 5.1))
My User-Agents.ptxt is the same

Quote:So IE8's User-Agent should be (I think) 'corrected' to,

Code:
Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 5.1)
This is what mine shows for non-google sites.

Quote:My IE8 sends

Code:
User-Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; Trident/4.0; SLCC2; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; .NET CLR 3.5.30729; .NET CLR 3.0.30729; Media Center PC 6.0)

In Exceptions.ptxt

Code:
# Google Search
www.google.(*/)+{1}(intl/(*/)+{1}(^?)|search\?|webhp|(^?))
  $SET(0=a_ads.a_rdlink.a_target.i_popup_b:0.i_timer:2.i_noscr:3.f_cookie.f_ua_opie.)
  $SET(sCookieP=0)$SET(sCookieF=PREF=ID=3003added0032123:FF=4:NR=100:CR=2:SG=0)
My Exceptions.ptxt is the same.

Quote:f_ua_opie -> fake Opera, if not IE or Opera

Since I don't have any other User-Agent related entries (I think),
the Proxomitron changes the User-Agent to

Code:
Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 5.1)

Exceptions-U.ptxt provides
## don't fake browser info (headers & JS) $SET(0=i_ua:0.)
and
## fake user-agent: "Anything" $SET(0=f_ua_§Anything.)
but I think it would be best to discover what is up.

HTH
Agreed. I will try some things over the next few days and report any findings.

Thanks,
DarthTrader
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
May. 20, 2010, 12:59 AM
Post: #6
RE: IE8: Correct User Agent on Google sites
You could use some flags.

(May. 19, 2010 09:39 PM)DarthTrader Wrote:  
(May. 19, 2010 04:03 PM)JJoe Wrote:  User-Agents.ptxt has,

Code:
Mozilla/4.0(^$TST(keyword=*.f_ua_(^[a-z]++ie)*)) \(compatible; MSIE(^ 5.01)\2;
  $SET(1=Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE\2; Windows NT 5.1))

My User-Agents.ptxt is the same

What do you see at http://www.google.com after you change it to

Code:
Mozilla/4.0(^$TST(keyword=*.f_ua_(^[a-z]++ie)*)) \(compatible; MSIE(^ 5.01)\2;
  $SET(1=Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE\2; Windows NT 5.1))$ALERT(\1)

?

The header filter 'User-Agent: Manage listed Strings - Set Var' calls this list. When the filter exits the variable hOrigUA contains the original UA; \1 in $OHDR(User-Agent:( ) \1) contains the fake.

Have you any other User-Agent header filters?


Offered for no particular reason

Code:
[Patterns]
Name = "Tell UA and fail"
Active = FALSE
Limit = 256
Match = "?$STOP()$OHDR(User-Agent:( ) \1)"
        "$ALERT(Original = $GET(hOrigUA)\r\n"
        "Fake=\1)(^)"


Have fun
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
May. 20, 2010, 04:13 AM
Post: #7
RE: IE8: Correct User Agent on Google sites
With $ALERT(\1) I see an alert box:
Code:
Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 7.0; Windows NT 5.1)

I can force the correct user agent by changing this:
Code:
Mozilla/4.0(^$TST(keyword=*.f_ua_(^[a-z]++ie)*)) \(compatible; MSIE(^ 5.01)\2;
  $SET(1=Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE\2; Windows NT 5.1))
to this:
Code:
Mozilla/4.0(^$TST(keyword=*.f_ua_(^[a-z]++ie)*)) \(compatible; MSIE(^ 5.01)\2;
  $SET(1=Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 5.1))
Unfortunately, this breaks the Google: Multi URL Untangler filter.

JJoe, since you are getting the correct user agent for IE8, can you confirm that the Google: Multi URL Untangler filter is working for Google searches on your machine?

I have also discovered that http://www.nytimes.com is returning the incorrect MSIE 7.0 user agent.

I am also using these two header filters:
Accept: Fake while faking User-Agent
Accept-Charset: Kill while faking User-Agent

DarthTrader
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
May. 20, 2010, 04:24 AM
Post: #8
RE: IE8: Correct User Agent on Google sites
Update:
Under IE8 Compatibility View settings, I had these two items checked:
Include updated website lists from Microsoft
Display intranet sites in Compatibility View

Once I unchecked these two items, my User Agent correctly shows MSIE 8.0, but this breaks the Google: Multi URL Untangler filter. Sad
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
May. 20, 2010, 06:17 AM
Post: #9
RE: IE8: Correct User Agent on Google sites
(May. 20, 2010 04:24 AM)DarthTrader Wrote:  Update:
Under IE8 Compatibility View settings, I had these two items checked:
Include updated website lists from Microsoft
Display intranet sites in Compatibility View

Ahh... as I suspected but I thought you'd see this when you checked the UA in the Proxomitron's log window.
Interesting that they choose to fake their UA.

I rarely use IE8 and haven't enabled those things.

(May. 20, 2010 04:24 AM)DarthTrader Wrote:  Once I unchecked these two items, my User Agent correctly shows MSIE 8.0, but this breaks the Google: Multi URL Untangler filter. Sad

I think it works for me.

Having fun Wink
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
May. 20, 2010, 03:39 PM
Post: #10
RE: IE8: Correct User Agent on Google sites
(May. 20, 2010 06:17 AM)JJoe Wrote:  I think it works for me.

Having fun Wink

I don't think so. The Google search results may look the same, but the page source for IE8 is quite different than IE7. I don't think the Untangler filter could ever work on a search result using IE8.

In any case, thanks for the helpful troubleshooting tools. Smile!

DarthTrader
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
May. 20, 2010, 06:00 PM
Post: #11
RE: IE8: Correct User Agent on Google sites
(May. 20, 2010 03:39 PM)DarthTrader Wrote:  I don't think the Untangler filter could ever work on a search result using IE8.

I haven't investigated but look at the attached png.

What do you see at
http://www.google.com/search?sourceid=ie7&q=proxomitron

?

HTH


Attached File(s)
.png  Clipboard01.png (Size: 228.84 KB / Downloads: 589)
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
May. 20, 2010, 06:32 PM
Post: #12
RE: IE8: Correct User Agent on Google sites
(May. 20, 2010 06:00 PM)JJoe Wrote:  I haven't investigated but look at the attached png.

What do you see at
http://www.google.com/search?sourceid=ie7&q=proxomitron

?

HTH

I see the same as you. What do you see when you connect to http://www.google.com, then activate debug logging, and then type Proxomitron into the search box and click Search?

DarthTrader
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
May. 20, 2010, 10:08 PM
Post: #13
RE: IE8: Correct User Agent on Google sites
(May. 20, 2010 06:32 PM)DarthTrader Wrote:  What do you see when you connect to http://www.google.com, then activate debug logging, and then type Proxomitron into the search box and click Search?

I finally see the same as you. I had forgotten about the google ajax. I don't always get it.

From what we have learned, we should be able to fake IE7 for just www.google.com/ and get the Untangler back...

The ajax went away after I added

Code:
www.google.com/(^?)&$OHDR(User-Agent:Mozilla/4.0 \(compatible; MSIE 8.0;*)
  &$SET(0=f_ua_§Mozilla/4%2e0 \(compatible; MSIE 7%2e0; Windows NT 5%2e1\).)

to Exceptions-U. The Untangler filter works again, I think.

Of course, part of your original "minor annoyance" has returned, but for only www.google.com/.

Good enough?
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
May. 20, 2010, 10:24 PM
Post: #14
RE: IE8: Correct User Agent on Google sites
Or I can simply add google.com to the Compatibility View Settings. Either way is good enough for me!

Thanks,
DarthTrader
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump: