perl
Sep. 28, 2004, 12:57 AM

Hi all,

If I remember correctly, Scott wrote proxo with perl. A while back, I downloaded perl from activestate, but I didn't see how you could make a stand alone program with a windows gui with it.

If anybody could shed some light on this, I'd appreciate it.

Mike
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Sep. 28, 2004, 06:11 AM

Mike;
Quote:If I remember correctly, Scott wrote proxo with perl. A while back, I downloaded perl from activestate, but I didn't see how you could make a stand alone program with a windows gui with it.
If Scott had used perl to write Proxo, he would have been certifiably commitable within hours of starting the attempt! I'm a perl programmer myself, and look at me!! (On second thought, that might not be such a good idea. [angry])

What he did do was kype the general idea from a perl script written many years ago. That script, which is still around, btw, was used by SysAdmins to remove objectionable content from emails and webpages posted by university students with, shall we say, a penchant for the more shocking elements of the language. This was even before the days of the true Internet, as devised by Tim Berners-Lee.

But I doubt very much that Scott actually programmed Proxo in perl. It just doesn't lend itself to building executable apps, let alone a GUI to go with it. Kopeks to donut holes, he used a much more modern language, although I never asked him, so I'm not the final authority on this.

Mind telling us what's your reason for asking this question? BTW, if you need help with perl programming, just ask. If I can't answer it, I'll be more than happy to point you to some of my favorite resources. :P

Oddysey

p.s. Hope you all can find this message - it's my "404" th one!!

I'm no longer in the rat race - the rats won't have me!
Sep. 28, 2004, 11:23 AM

Hi Oddysey

Thanks for the reply.

Oddysey Wrote:It just doesn't lend itself to building executable apps, let alone a GUI to go with it.