Post Reply 
Changing page content without Prox
Oct. 02, 2006, 07:23 PM
Post: #1
Changing page content without Prox
Is there any way to add Javascript code to web pages with Firefox without using something like Proxomitron? Since Prox does not run on a Macintosh, I want to have the "zap white backgrounds" bookmarklet code added to every web page. Perhaps there is a way to encapsulate javascript code in stylesheet code somehow?
Alternatively, is there any way to have stylesheet code set to see what background colour is set, and if it is white, change it to something else?
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Oct. 07, 2006, 12:32 AM
Post: #2
RE: Changing page content without Prox
Siamesecat Wrote:Is there any way to add Javascript code to web pages with Firefox without using something like Proxomitron?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Greasemonkey maybe.
http://greasemonkey.mozdev.org/

HTH
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Oct. 07, 2006, 06:54 AM
Post: #3
RE: Changing page content without Prox
I was afraid of that. Thanks anyway.
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Oct. 07, 2006, 02:27 PM
Post: #4
RE: Changing page content without Prox
Siamesecat Wrote:I was afraid of that. Thanks anyway.
I wouldn't take my words as the definitive answer tho.
I don't know what will run on the Mac.
Or if css could do it alone.
There could be a Firefox extension, another filtering proxy, or ??? that I don't know about.

An extension that allowed UserCss by URL could help.
Does Wine run on your mac?
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Oct. 08, 2006, 04:25 AM
Post: #5
RE: Changing page content without Prox
I tried Wine. It did not work very well. It kept complaining about fonts being missing.
Why would an extension that does things by URL help?
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Oct. 08, 2006, 12:30 PM
Post: #6
RE: Changing page content without Prox
Siamesecat Wrote:Why would an extension that does things by URL help?
At least, you could change the background on the pages you know about.

I'm assuming you have set the default color to something other than white.
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Oct. 08, 2006, 09:00 PM
Post: #7
RE: Changing page content without Prox
Quote:I'm assuming you have set the default color to something other than white.
Yes, I have the userContent stylesheet set up to use a light blue colour. I also set up the bookmarks toolbar with some bookmarklets, including the "zap white backgrounds" one. I had to set it to be displayed all the time in order to put the search bar on it (that took too much room on the navigation toolbar). I can click the bookmarklet as soon as I bring up a page. I guess that will work all right.
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump: