Old Proxomitron Forums

Proxomitron Filters - Discussions welcome => Forms => Topic started by: Jor on August 21, 2001, 02:40:48 PM

Title: Disable length limitation in form fields
Post by: Jor on August 21, 2001, 02:40:48 PM
This simple filter will clear all maxlength statements in forms, so you can enter as much data as you want.
Some uses: extend taglines in chat rooms, or give a longer comment in guestbooks.
Be warned if you use this, that there is usually a good reason this is activated: several CGI scripts cannot parse strings over a certain length.

[Patterns]
Name = "Kill maxlength= in forms"
Active = TRUE
Limit = 100
Match = "maxlength=1"
Replace = "maxfoo=1"


Edited by - Jor on 21 Aug 2001  15:47:29
Title: Disable length limitation in form fields
Post by: Jor on April 07, 2002, 02:46:21 PM
I've updated this filter, it's a lot smarter now and now only targets actual <input> fields.

Since sometimes a script checks if you do not exceed the maxlength, I've included the old maxlength in a title -- this way the maxlength value will be reported to you when you hover the mouse over it, either in a pop-up box or in the status bar (browser and settings-dependant). It now also uses the $AV method, to get it to work with quoted values.

Name = "Remove length limit in input fields"
Active = TRUE
Bounds = "<input*>"
Limit = 1024
Match = "1 maxlength=$AV(*2) 3"
Replace = "1 title="maxlength: 2" 3"


Note: this is a newer version of this filter than the one included in my complete filter set.

Edited by - Jor on 07 Apr 2002  16:17:13
Title: Disable length limitation in form fields
Post by: Arne on April 07, 2002, 02:58:40 PM
When I change
Replace = "1 title="maxlength: 2" 3"
to
Replace = "1 title='maxlength: 2' 3"
it works like a charm


Best wishes
Arne
Imici username: Arne
Title: Disable length limitation in form fields
Post by: Jor on April 07, 2002, 03:03:53 PM
Thanks Arne... I see the problem :)

Altering AVQ() to AV() also solves this. (Filter has been edited


Edited by - Jor on 07 Apr 2002  16:16:26
Title: Disable length limitation in form fields
Post by: Jor on June 03, 2002, 12:05:47 PM
Current version of this filter:

[Patterns]
Name = "Remove length limit in input fields"
Active = TRUE
Multi = TRUE
URL = "$TYPE(htm)"
Bounds = "<inputs*>"
Limit = 1024
Match = "1 maxlength=$AV(*2) 3"
Replace = "1 title="maxlength: 2" 3"


The former maxlength value is put in the title, so it should show up in your browser's status bar when you hover the mouse over it, or as a pop-up.



Edited by - Jor on 18 Jun 2002  15:44:45