Author Topic: Completely cloak browser version (Updated)  (Read 3976 times)

Jor

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 421
    • ICQ Messenger - 10401286
    • AOL Instant Messenger - jor otf
    • Yahoo Instant Messenger - jor_otf
    • View Profile
    • http://members.outpost10f.com/~jor/
    • Email
Completely cloak browser version (Updated)
« on: January 15, 2002, 07:09:27 PM »
This is a set of filters that will completely cloak your browser's identity:

--- start of config ---
[Blocklists]
List.DumbSites = "..ListsDumbSites.txt"

[HTTP headers]
In = FALSE
Out = TRUE
Key = "User-Agent: Default"
URL = "(^$LST(DumbSites))"
Replace = "Opera/6.01 (Win32; U) [en]"

In = FALSE
Out = FALSE
Key = "User-Agent: Dumb Sites (IE)"
URL = "$LST(DumbSites)"
Replace = "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Win32)"

In = FALSE
Out = TRUE
Key = "User-Agent: Dumb Sites (NS)"
URL = "$LST(DumbSites)"
Replace = "Mozilla/4.08 [en] (Win32; U; Nav)"

[Patterns]
Name = "Cloak UA in JS (Normal)"
Active = TRUE
URL = "$TYPE(htm) & (^$LST(DumbSites))"
Limit = 256
Match = "<start>"
Replace = "<!--//-->"
          "<script type="text/javascript" src="dhtml/ua-op.js">"
          "</script>
"

Name = "Cloak UA in JS (Dumb Sites /NS)"
Active = TRUE
URL = "$TYPE(htm) & $LST(DumbSites)"
Limit = 256
Match = "<start>"
Replace = "<!--//-->"
          "<script type="text/javascript" src="dhtml/ua-ns.js">"
          "</script>
"

Name = "Cloak UA in JS (Dumb Sites /IE)"
Active = FALSE
URL = "$TYPE(htm) & $LST(DumbSites)"
Limit = 256
Match = "<start>"
Replace = "<!--//-->"
          "<script type="text/javascript" src="dhtml/ua-ie.js">"
          "</script>
"
--- end of config ---


The blocklist DumbSites.txt:
# Dumb Sites list.
# This list contains URLs that block browsers other than the big two.
#
*.msn.(*.|)com/
*.hotmail.com/
*.passport.(*.|)com/
roxettedirect.com/
www.winace.com/


The user agent javascript files:
ua-op.js:
// Tell them I'm using Opera 6.01
  navigator.userAgent = 'Opera/6.01 (Win32; U) [en]';
  navigator.appName = 'Opera';
  navigator.appVersion = '6.01';
  navigator.appCodeName = 'Mozilla';
  navigator.browserLanguage = 'en';
  navigator.systemLanguage = 'en';
  navigator.platform = 'Win32';


ua-ns.js
// Tell them I'm using Netscape Navigator 4.08
  navigator.userAgent = 'Mozilla/4.08 [en] (Win32; U; Nav)';
  navigator.appName = 'Netscape';
  navigator.appVersion = '4.08 [en] (Win32; U; Nav)';
  navigator.appCodeName = 'Mozilla';
  navigator.browserLanguage = 'en';
  navigator.systemLanguage = 'en';
  navigator.platform = 'Win32';


ua-ie.js
// Tell them I'm using MSIE 6
  navigator.userAgent = 'Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Win32)';
  navigator.appName = 'Microsoft Internet Explorer';
  navigator.appVersion = '4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Win32)';
  navigator.appCodeName = 'Mozilla';
  navigator.browserLanguage = 'en';
  navigator.systemLanguage = 'en';
  navigator.platform = 'Win32';


To use these filters, save the section betweeen --- start of config --- and --- end of config --- to a textfile, save as cloak.cfg and merge from within Proxomitron.

Then save the DumbSites.txt file in your /Lists folder, and then save the three ua-xx.js files in your /HTML folder.

All files and filters are included in my filterset in the 'Configuration Files' forum.


This will COMPLETELY cloak your browser version, except for Java and Active-X (which should be disabled always).

Edited by - Jor on 15 Jan 2002  19:15:05
 

Jor

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 421
    • ICQ Messenger - 10401286
    • AOL Instant Messenger - jor otf
    • Yahoo Instant Messenger - jor_otf
    • View Profile
    • http://members.outpost10f.com/~jor/
    • Email
Completely cloak browser version (Updated)
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2002, 12:09:41 PM »
I found it rather useless to include a "default" Ua option, as Mozilla and Opera allow you to edit with anyway, and MSIE ignores it. So below is the latest version of this set:

[Blocklists]
List.DumbSites = "..ListsDumbSites.txt"

[HTTP headers]
In = FALSE
Out = TRUE
Key = "User-Agent: Dumb Sites (IE)"
URL = "$LST(DumbSites)"
Replace = "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Win32) [en]"

In = FALSE
Out = FALSE
Key = "User-Agent: Dumb Sites (Moz 3.0)"
URL = "$LST(DumbSites)"
Replace = "Mozilla/3.0 (Win32; U) [en]"

In = FALSE
Out = FALSE
Key = "User-Agent: Dumb Sites (Moz 5.0)"
URL = "$LST(DumbSites)"
Replace = "Mozilla/5.0 (Win32; U) [en]"

In = FALSE
Out = FALSE
Key = "User-Agent: Dumb Sites (NS 4.78)"
URL = "$LST(DumbSites)"
Replace = "Mozilla/4.78 (Win32; U) [en]"

In = FALSE
Out = FALSE
Key = "User-Agent: Dumb Sites (Opera)"
URL = "($LST(DumbSites))"
Replace = "Opera/6.03 (Win32; U)  [en]"

[Patterns]
Name = "Cloak UA in JS (Dumb Sites /Opera)"
Active = FALSE
URL = "$TYPE(htm) & $LST(DumbSites)"
Limit = 256
Match = "<start>"
Replace = "<!--//-->"
          "<script src="http://bweb..local.ptron/ua-op.js" "
          "type="text/javascript"></script>
$STOP()"

Name = "Cloak UA in JS (Dumb Sites /IE)"
Active = TRUE
URL = "$TYPE(htm) & $LST(DumbSites)"
Limit = 256
Match = "<start>"
Replace = "<!--//-->"
          "<script src="http://bweb..local.ptron/ua-ie.js" "
          "type="text/javascript"></script>
$STOP()"

Name = "Cloak UA in JS (Dumb Sites /Moz 3.0)"
Active = FALSE
URL = "$TYPE(htm) & $LST(DumbSites)"
Limit = 256
Match = "<start>"
Replace = "<!--//-->"
          "<script src="http://bweb..local.ptron/ua-moz3.js" "
          "type="text/javascript"></script>
$STOP()"

Name = "Cloak UA in JS (Dumb Sites /Moz 5.0)"
Active = FALSE
URL = "$TYPE(htm) & $LST(DumbSites)"
Limit = 256
Match = "<start>"
Replace = "<!--//-->"
          "<script src="http://bweb..local.ptron/ua-moz5.js" "
          "type="text/javascript"></script>
$STOP()"

Name = "Cloak UA in JS (Dumb Sites /NS 4.78)"
Active = FALSE
URL = "$TYPE(htm) & $LST(DumbSites)"
Limit = 256
Match = "<start>"
Replace = "<!--//-->"
          "<script src="http://bweb..local.ptron/ua-ns.js" "
          "type="text/javascript"></script>
$STOP()"


Updated versions of the javascript files:
The user agent javascript files:

ua-op.js:

// Tell them I'm using Opera 6.03
  navigator.userAgent = 'Opera/6.03 (Win32; U) [en]';
  navigator.appName = 'Opera';
  navigator.appVersion = '6.02';
  navigator.appCodeName = 'Mozilla';
  navigator.browserLanguage = 'en';
  navigator.systemLanguage = 'en';
  navigator.platform = 'Win32';

ua-ns.js

// Tell them I'm using Netscape 4.78
  navigator.userAgent = 'Mozilla/4.78 (Win32; U) [en]';
  navigator.appName = 'Netscape';
  navigator.appVersion = '4.78 (Win32; U)';
  navigator.appCodeName = 'Mozilla';
  navigator.browserLanguage = 'en';
  navigator.systemLanguage = 'en';
  navigator.platform = 'Win32';

ua-ie.js

// Tell them I'm using MSIE 6
  navigator.userAgent = 'Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Win32) [en]';
  navigator.appName = 'Microsoft Internet Explorer';
  navigator.appVersion = '4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Win32)';
  navigator.appCodeName = 'Mozilla';
  navigator.browserLanguage = 'en';
  navigator.systemLanguage = 'en';
  navigator.platform = 'Win32';

ua-moz3.js

// Tell them I'm using Mozilla 3.0
  navigator.userAgent = 'Mozilla/3.0 (Win32; U) [en]';
  navigator.appName = 'Netscape';
  navigator.appVersion = '3.0 (Win32; U)';
  navigator.appCodeName = 'Mozilla';
  navigator.browserLanguage = 'en';
  navigator.systemLanguage = 'en';
  navigator.platform = 'Win32';

ua-moz5.js

// Tell them I'm using Mozilla 5
  navigator.userAgent = 'Mozilla/5.0 (Win32; U) [en]';
  navigator.appName = 'Netscape';
  navigator.appVersion = '5.0 (Win32; U)';
  navigator.appCodeName = 'Mozilla';
  navigator.browserLanguage = 'en';
  navigator.systemLanguage = 'en';
  navigator.platform = 'Win32';


You can cloak your browser as either MSIE, Opera 6.03, Netscape 4.78, Mozilla 3, or Mozilla 5 (Netscape 6).

Keep in mind MSIE ignores the javascript files.

Edited by - Jor on 03 Jun 2002  13:13:12
 

TEggHead

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 93
    • ICQ Messenger - 21893433
    • AOL Instant Messenger -
    • Yahoo Instant Messenger - eljarec
    • View Profile
    • Email
Completely cloak browser version (Updated)
« Reply #2 on: June 03, 2002, 02:31:05 PM »
oops, wrong topic...<snip>

 
quote:
Keep in mind MSIE ignores the javascript files.


Now this I don't get...in what context do I need to take this?
as in 'you can't modify the values of these properties in IE' ?
or as 'The scripts are not loaded and executed by IE' ?

JarC





Edited by - TEggHead on 03 Jun 2002  15:32:57
 

Jor

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 421
    • ICQ Messenger - 10401286
    • AOL Instant Messenger - jor otf
    • Yahoo Instant Messenger - jor_otf
    • View Profile
    • http://members.outpost10f.com/~jor/
    • Email
Completely cloak browser version (Updated)
« Reply #3 on: June 03, 2002, 03:09:35 PM »
It's to be taken as 'you can't modify the values of these properties in IE'. It would appear that with MSIE the values are hardcoded, so they cannot be altered by first setting them in an external script.

The same applies to other ways of altering the User Agent, the only reliable method is to use the Header filters. (Or edit your registry, and not even that appears to work always).

Then again, since MSIE allows for VBScripting, ActiveX, and more nonsense, you are never quite safe using it.

 
 

Arne

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 778
    • ICQ Messenger - 1448105
    • AOL Instant Messenger - aflaaten
    • Yahoo Instant Messenger - arneflaa
    • View Profile
    • http://
    • Email
Completely cloak browser version (Updated)
« Reply #4 on: June 03, 2002, 04:20:55 PM »
I am working on sort of a test page, here:
http://asp.flaaten.dk/test/btest.shtml

I have also put some info on the counter page here:
http://asp.flaaten.dk/pforum/ex.php


So if you have any suggestions, please mail them to me

Best wishes
Arne
Imici username: Arne
Best wishes
Arne
Imici username= Arne

TEggHead

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 93
    • ICQ Messenger - 21893433
    • AOL Instant Messenger -
    • Yahoo Instant Messenger - eljarec
    • View Profile
    • Email
Completely cloak browser version (Updated)
« Reply #5 on: June 04, 2002, 07:57:14 PM »
quote:

It's to be taken as 'you can't modify the values of these properties in IE'. It would appear that with MSIE the values are hardcoded, so they cannot be altered by first setting them in an external script.



Soo..that's why the above example puts'm in the same page, sorta turning them into local variables...? (I admit, I know enough JS to get beyond average, but I don't know as much of the ways to get around certain things other than the ones I stumbled accross myself, so always glad to learn a new trick...)


 
 

hpguru

  • Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 257
    • ICQ Messenger -
    • AOL Instant Messenger -
    • Yahoo Instant Messenger -
    • View Profile
    • http://lightning.prohosting.com/~hpguru/
    • Email
Completely cloak browser version (Updated)
« Reply #6 on: June 04, 2002, 11:38:47 PM »
quote:

It's to be taken as 'you can't modify the values of these properties in IE'. It would appear that with MSIE the values are hardcoded, so they cannot be altered by first setting them in an external script.



All of the Navigator Object properties are read-only in IE.

 
Facing each other,
a thousand miles apart.

Andrew_S

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • ICQ Messenger -
    • AOL Instant Messenger -
    • Yahoo Instant Messenger -
    • View Profile
    • Email
Completely cloak browser version (Updated)
« Reply #7 on: June 27, 2002, 01:54:54 PM »
I've tried these filters at www.suntrust.com and they're still able to identify my browser as "not IE".  Can someone who thinks they have these installed correctly, quickly visit Suntrust and see if they work?

BTW.  I'm using one of the nightly builds of Mozilla 1.1.  Don't know if that's important or not.