Author Topic: Bypass List  (Read 3985 times)

mbowling

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • ICQ Messenger -
    • AOL Instant Messenger -
    • Yahoo Instant Messenger -
    • View Profile
    • Email
Bypass List
« on: January 16, 2002, 06:44:07 PM »
I'm attempting to use the bypass list for the first time.

Bypass List.txt was not in the Block List Configuration so I added List Name of BypassList and List Filename of ..ListsBypass List.txt.

I added the following two lines to the Bypass List.txt file:
[^/]++internetseer.com/
[^/]++ad.minddrivers.com/

I'm using www.internetseer.com as a test site for using the bypass funtionality. The site has one banner ad at the top from ad.minddrivers.com. The banner is still being blocked after adding the two bypass lines for the site and the banner.

What am I doing wrong?

Mike
 

Jor

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 421
    • ICQ Messenger - 10401286
    • AOL Instant Messenger - jor otf
    • Yahoo Instant Messenger - jor_otf
    • View Profile
    • http://members.outpost10f.com/~jor/
    • Email
Bypass List
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2002, 06:50:07 PM »
There are a few possibilities this could happen...

First, in the main Proxomitron window, check under config - Startup if you have $LST(Bypass) listed under 'Bypass any URLs that match this expression'. Otherwise it will never be checked.

Praeterea censeo Americe esse delendam.
 

mbowling

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • ICQ Messenger -
    • AOL Instant Messenger -
    • Yahoo Instant Messenger -
    • View Profile
    • Email
Bypass List
« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2002, 07:09:30 PM »
Thank you Jor, that solved my problem. I added $LST(BypassList) to 'Bypass any URLs that match this expression'.

Mike
 

Nilukmirisal

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • ICQ Messenger -
    • AOL Instant Messenger -
    • Yahoo Instant Messenger -
    • View Profile
    • Email
Bypass List
« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2002, 08:05:51 AM »
I like to add range of IP adresses in my By-pass  and  another lists.
 for example from  IP - aaaa.bbbb.cccc.dddd   to IP - aaaa.bbbb.ccxy.zzzz
 but i don't know fomat for do this .My help me somebody.

 
 

xartica

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • ICQ Messenger -
    • AOL Instant Messenger -
    • Yahoo Instant Messenger -
    • View Profile
    • Email
Bypass List
« Reply #4 on: March 08, 2002, 10:47:34 PM »
I don't know how helpful that would be.

the list of IPs // ranges would never match, unless you manually typed a numeric IP into your web browser's location bar as the host portion of a URL, or clicked on a link which explicitly referenced the host destination by IP.

Given a friendly (DNS) name as the destination URL ~~ which is the case nearly all the time ~~ neither the web browser nor the proxy can perform a "reverse DNS lookup" when pages are requested.



 
 

Redback

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • ICQ Messenger - 1296947
    • AOL Instant Messenger -
    • Yahoo Instant Messenger -
    • View Profile
    • Email
Bypass List
« Reply #5 on: May 19, 2002, 02:28:34 PM »
I'm seem too be have serious probelems with me Windows Xp updatelink when the(click on scan)in bypass mode or without the bypass mode the page is total blank

 
 

Jor

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 421
    • ICQ Messenger - 10401286
    • AOL Instant Messenger - jor otf
    • Yahoo Instant Messenger - jor_otf
    • View Profile
    • http://members.outpost10f.com/~jor/
    • Email
Bypass List
« Reply #6 on: May 19, 2002, 02:46:53 PM »
Windows Update does not work at all for me with the Proxomitron active, or even in bypass mode.

The solution is to put www.windowsupdate.com, and *windowsupdate.microsoft.com in your MSIE's 'Do not use proxy server for addresses beginning with' list.