Author Topic: A newbie question about (in) & (out)  (Read 1018 times)

ipje

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • ICQ Messenger -
    • AOL Instant Messenger -
    • Yahoo Instant Messenger -
    • View Profile
    • Email
A newbie question about (in) & (out)
« on: July 13, 2002, 05:22:02 PM »
Hi there,
i'm a real newbie with Proxomitron and at this moment I do a lot of reading in this forum. But there is one question that I must ask, otherwise I can't "play" with Proxomitron to figured out how everything works.
When I look at edit Headersfilter there are two checkboxes (in) & (out) and the name of the HTTP Message Header and at the end of the name (in) or (out) or (in&out).
Can anybody take some time for me to explain the whole thing about the checkboxes  and (IN,OUT,IN&OUT) at the end of a filtername?
Using the filter who are provided by ALTOSAX.
And why is the "apply" button disabled?




Edited by - ipje on 13 Jul 2002  18:39:31

Edited by - ipje on 13 Jul 2002  18:44:16
 

altosax

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 328
    • ICQ Messenger -
    • AOL Instant Messenger -
    • Yahoo Instant Messenger -
    • View Profile
    • http://
    • Email
A newbie question about (in) & (out)
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2002, 05:43:05 PM »
hi ipje,
welcome on this forum.
checking the box "in" in a header filter, that filter will be applyed to incoming header, checking the box "out" that filter will be applyed to outgoing header.
so you have to check the first, the second or both depending of the stuff you want to filter: if you want block incoming header before it reaches your browser or if you want to block outgoing header before it can be sent to web server.
note also that some header exists only as incoming and some others exists only as outgoing (read rfc 2616 for more details).
anyway you don't have to worry, all filters show in their name the box that you have to check to active it, so if you want to activate a header filter, you have simply to check that box.

<edit>:
to read the header you can prefix the url with dbug.., something like http://dbug..www.sitename...and_so_on. also, you can open the log window while browsing.

<edit2>: sorry, i've tryed to fix the false link above but without success. hey arne, why not add an option to escape false url, like [esc]stuff[/esc]?

hth,
altosax.

Edited by - altosax on 13 Jul 2002  18:58:32
Link edited by Arne
 

ipje

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • ICQ Messenger -
    • AOL Instant Messenger -
    • Yahoo Instant Messenger -
    • View Profile
    • Email
A newbie question about (in) & (out)
« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2002, 05:47:31 PM »
mmmmmm I'm a real newbie but this problem is solved now thanks

 
 

Arne

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 778
    • ICQ Messenger - 1448105
    • AOL Instant Messenger - aflaaten
    • Yahoo Instant Messenger - arneflaa
    • View Profile
    • http://
    • Email
A newbie question about (in) & (out)
« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2002, 06:54:53 PM »
http://www.flaaten.dk/pforum/

where the first w in www is written with (remove spaces)
& # 119;
and a h in http can be replaced by:
& # 104;

Best wishes
Arne
Imici username= Arne
Best wishes
Arne
Imici username= Arne

altosax

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 328
    • ICQ Messenger -
    • AOL Instant Messenger -
    • Yahoo Instant Messenger -
    • View Profile
    • http://
    • Email
A newbie question about (in) & (out)
« Reply #4 on: July 13, 2002, 07:10:09 PM »
the tricky-est way always works :)
but i need to sign it because my harddisk (the one in my head) is full now.

thank you,
altosax.