Author Topic: alias list : send all to google - multiple strings  (Read 1891 times)

N2002

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • ICQ Messenger -
    • AOL Instant Messenger -
    • Yahoo Instant Messenger -
    • View Profile
    • http://
    • Email
alias list : send all to google - multiple strings
« on: August 22, 2002, 10:52:14 AM »
hi

is there a way to send more than one string to the search engine specified in the url alias list ???


# Default catch-all: send anything else to Google
1 & $JUMP(http://www.google.com/search?q=1)

this works:
.bill.gates.windows

but this don't:
.cursor.new.download.free

is there any way it can be configured to support more strings ??

also there is a / at the end of every query ..

any ideas ?
thx

 
 

TEggHead

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 93
    • ICQ Messenger - 21893433
    • AOL Instant Messenger -
    • Yahoo Instant Messenger - eljarec
    • View Profile
    • Email
alias list : send all to google - multiple strings
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2002, 12:23:47 PM »
quote:

but this don't:
.cursor.new.download.free



It might be the use of periods that throws it off, I'm using a filter to redirects msn autosearch to google and noticed IE getting confused sometimes when I used periods. Instead of it getting sent as query, IE tried to resolve it into an actual site address...

I noticed that too with the ending /, didn't bother to try'n fix it as it doesn't matter much for the results.

 
 

Jor

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 421
    • ICQ Messenger - 10401286
    • AOL Instant Messenger - jor otf
    • Yahoo Instant Messenger - jor_otf
    • View Profile
    • http://members.outpost10f.com/~jor/
    • Email
alias list : send all to google - multiple strings
« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2002, 01:10:59 PM »
You can use + to use more characters.

.something+anything+this+that+you+me will work.

The trailing slash has no effect

 
 

N2002

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • ICQ Messenger -
    • AOL Instant Messenger -
    • Yahoo Instant Messenger -
    • View Profile
    • http://
    • Email
alias list : send all to google - multiple strings
« Reply #3 on: August 22, 2002, 03:30:10 PM »
quote:

You can use + to use more characters.

.something+anything+this+that+you+me will work.

The trailing slash has no effect

 



hell this is the best *feature* of proxomitron :-)

thx jor u saved me a lot of cli
  • ckwork


 
 

altosax

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 328
    • ICQ Messenger -
    • AOL Instant Messenger -
    • Yahoo Instant Messenger -
    • View Profile
    • http://
    • Email
alias list : send all to google - multiple strings
« Reply #4 on: August 22, 2002, 06:44:15 PM »
here i have to use double +

.keyword1++keyword2++keyword3.....

<edit>: forgot the dot.

altosax.

Edited by - altosax on 22 Aug 2002  19:45:29
 

Jor

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 421
    • ICQ Messenger - 10401286
    • AOL Instant Messenger - jor otf
    • Yahoo Instant Messenger - jor_otf
    • View Profile
    • http://members.outpost10f.com/~jor/
    • Email
alias list : send all to google - multiple strings
« Reply #5 on: August 23, 2002, 06:10:30 PM »
Altosax, unless you use a different string, the double + is not necessary, since that'd send the string something +anything +this +that +you +me to Google: Google by default uses all keywords entered (unlike other search engines).

In most search engines, searching this that will find pages containing this and that, pages with only this, and pages with only  that.
Not so in Google: it always searches for all keywords, so you'll only get pages containing this and that.

The exception are so-called common words, if you _have_ to search the room, and not just room, you should use a + in front of it. So only in that case would using a double + be needed.

 
 

TEggHead

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 93
    • ICQ Messenger - 21893433
    • AOL Instant Messenger -
    • Yahoo Instant Messenger - eljarec
    • View Profile
    • Email
alias list : send all to google - multiple strings
« Reply #6 on: August 24, 2002, 11:48:56 AM »
Ok, there's definitely something wrong here with this here alias thingy...

I can't loose the trailing slash...now I find it also appears sometimes in the middle of my query string more than once in the same query...

Here's where this is giving me headaches because it doesn't work as expected...besides Google using and by default for all keywords, it also supports searching for the litteral string by enclosing them in quotes. So a search for ."The Wild Country" searches for the exact string, however, this does not seem to work with the alias/jump list....

I cleaned out the whole list leaving the default catch-all in place. looking like so

1 & $JUMP(http://www.google.com/search?q=$UESC(1))

and no matter what I try, feeding the above example as querystring always ends up looking like

http://www.google.com/search?q="the/ wild country"try"/

note the extraneous slashes and the repeating of the tail of the query?

Definitely something not right here...

 
 

altosax

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 328
    • ICQ Messenger -
    • AOL Instant Messenger -
    • Yahoo Instant Messenger -
    • View Profile
    • http://
    • Email
alias list : send all to google - multiple strings
« Reply #7 on: August 24, 2002, 12:28:40 PM »
try unthicking you outgoing filters one at a time to find the offending filter.
i suggest to try first with the filters following the alias relocator.

hth,
altosax.

 
 

TEggHead

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 93
    • ICQ Messenger - 21893433
    • AOL Instant Messenger -
    • Yahoo Instant Messenger - eljarec
    • View Profile
    • Email
alias list : send all to google - multiple strings
« Reply #8 on: August 25, 2002, 11:20:10 AM »
quote:

try unthicking you outgoing filters one at a time to find the offending filter.



There ain't any other offending filter than the alias jumper. This would be clearly indicated in the logwindow if more than one filter would act on this, besides it is very unlikely that I would have the exact same outgoing headerfilters activated as others reporting similar with aliasjumping...

I think it's the format in combination with IE (or does anyone see the same in another broser?)

The first outgoing GET I see in the logwindow (before it is even seen by any URL filters) looks like (The GET is constructed by a $LOG command so I could see what is happening...)

+++GET__242 http://."the/ wild country"try"/

which is then sent to the jump list as is, so it is definitly IE that is doing the mangling...

JumpTo: http://www.google.com/search?q="the/ wild country"try"/

Ok, another put to bed...now to get around this quirky IE bahviour...

Edited by - TEggHead on 25 Aug 2002  12:35:06
 

altosax

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 328
    • ICQ Messenger -
    • AOL Instant Messenger -
    • Yahoo Instant Messenger -
    • View Profile
    • http://
    • Email
alias list : send all to google - multiple strings
« Reply #9 on: August 25, 2002, 01:09:24 PM »
i had a problem in the past when added these lines to my alias list:

# Search a URL in the Google cache. Type: .cache/URL
cache/1 & $JUMP(http://www.google.com/search?q=cache:1)

the problem was that the default catch all has to be the last option in the alias list, instead i've added those lines after it. reversing order solved the problem.
is the default catch all your last line?
if yes, have you tryed yourself, with your own config, a different browser?
if yes again, then it definitively is IE.

regards,
altosax.